Dark of Night, Colleen Coble

Dark of Night Review

Dark of Night by Colleen Coble picks up where the first book Edge of Dusk left off. Once again, we’re plunged into Annie’s life as she navigates parenting, her love life, work, and the truth about her missing sister.

We get to see the progression of Jon and Annie’s relationship as they decide to give their love a second chance but it won’t be easy. Not with all the complications in Annie’s life.

The search for the missing woman Michelle Fraser will give Annie and her team flashbacks to abductions that happened in Edge of Dusk. Something strange is going on in Annie’s hometown but will they figure it out in time to make a difference?

This was an intense read as we are drawn into the tension that Annie’s facing as well as the emotions and experiences of Michelle.

Readers will be reminded that life is challenging but the things we face are an opportunity for growth. They’re a chance for us to lean into God’s goodness and experience His grace.

Dark of Night is book two in the Annie Pederson series and is best enjoyed after reading Edge of Dusk as there are storylines that began in the first book.

I received an advanced reader’s copy from the publisher through NetGalley; a positive review was not required.

About Dark of Night (An Annie Pederson Novel Book 2)

The law is about justice—not grace. But perhaps ranger Annie Pederson can find a way to have both.

As if the last few months haven’t been hard enough—complete with threats on her life and the return of her first love, Jon—Annie has to figure out whether or not to believe a woman who claims to be her sister, Sarah, who was abducted twenty-four years ago at age five. Annie’s eight-year-old daughter, Kylie, has plenty of questions about what’s going on in her mother’s life—but there are some stories Annie doesn’t want uncovered.

As Annie grapples with how to heal the gulf between her and her would-be sister and make room in her daughter’s life for Jon, she’s professionally distracted by the case of yet another missing hiker in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula. A woman named Michelle Fraser has now been abducted, and though the woman’s estranged husband is at the top of their suspect list, Annie and her colleagues will need to dig deeper to determine whether these recent mysteries are truly as unrelated as they seem.

In this second novel of bestselling author Colleen Coble’s latest romantic-suspense series, Annie and Jon must fight for the future—and the family—that could once more be theirs.

• Second installment in the Annie Pederson series:

  • Book One: Edge of Dusk
  • Book Two: Dark of Night
  • Book Three: Break of Day (available July 2023)
  • Includes cameo appearances from beloved characters in Colleen’s Rock Harbor series
  • Includes discussion questions for book clubs

Purchase Dark of Night on Amazon | Christianbook

About Colleen Coble

Best-selling author Colleen Coble’s novels have won or finaled in awards ranging from the Best Books of Indiana, the ACFW Carol Award, the Romance Writers of America RITA, the Holt Medallion, the Daphne du Maurier, National Readers’ Choice, and the Booksellers Best. She has over 4 million books in print and writes romantic mysteries because she loves to see justice prevail. Colleen is CEO of American Christian Fiction Writers. She lives with her husband Dave in Indiana. Visit her website at http://colleencoble.com.

You may also like:

Scroll to Top