Miss Tavistock's Mistake

Miss Tavistock’s Mistake Review

Linore Rose Burkard has written a new Regency–Miss Tavistock’s Mistake–which is the first book in The Brides of Mayfair series.



My Review of Miss Tavistock’s Mistake

Miss Tavistock's MistakeMargaret Tavistock has been engaged to her cousin Gabriel since she was a girl. It was the wish of both their parents. But Gabriel is the second son of an earl and chose to make his living in the navy.

After ten years at sea, he comes home and Margaret believes their wedding will finally happen. But there are things afoot that she has no clue about which makes for a lot of misunderstanding.

Gabriel was an honorable man. I really felt that he was trying to do what was right for his family including honoring the wishes of his mother to marry his cousin, but he was born into an unfortunate family as both of his brothers were scoundrels.

I enjoyed his character and the way he tried to do what was best for others around him–even at his own expense.

Margaret, on the other hand, I struggled to like. I get why she told the first lie but really, the perpetuation of her deception just went too far! There were times when I just wanted to climb into the book and give her a shake. For much of the time I was reading Miss Tavistock’s Mistake, I kept thinking, “Oh, what a tangled web we weave…”

I received an advanced reader’s copy from the author; a positive review was not required. Purchase your copy of Miss Tavistock’s Mistake.


About Miss Tavistock’s Mistake Brides of Mayfair, Book One

Miss Tavistocks MistakeYoung Miss Margaret Tavistock is promised in marriage by the wish of her dearly departed papa to Captain Rempeare. But the captain’s been at sea for a decade. When she finally meets him, tempestuous sparks fly, and she impulsively adopts a daring false identity. Going by “Lady X,” she vows never to marry such an infuriating man.

Captain Gabriel Rempeare is prepared to fulfill his duty and marry Miss Tavistock–if only he can clap eyes on her! Circumstances keep them apart, though he cannot seem to avoid the maddeningly lovely Lady X.

When the two are thrown together in Mayfair, Miss Tavistock discovers the real nature of the captain, and regrets her subterfuge. But can such a noble man forgive deceit? Or has her mistake already cost her everything?

About Linore Rose Burkard

Linore Rose Burkard is a serious watcher of period films, a Janeite, and hopeless romantic. An award-winning author best-known for Inspirational Regency Romance, her first novel (Before the Season Ends) opened the genre for the CBA. Besides historical romance, Linore writes contemporary suspense (The Pulse Effex Series, as L.R. Burkard), contemporary romance (Falling In), and romantic short stories (ie., Three French Hens).

Linore has a magna cum laude English Lit. degree from CUNY which she earned while taking herself far too seriously. She now resides in Ohio with her husband and family, where she turns her youthful angst into character or humor-driven plots.

Learn more about Linore’s on her website www.LinoreBurkard.com


You may also like:

[mailerlite_form form_id=1]

Scroll to Top