The Key to Love Review

The Key to Love is the sweet story of romance-obsessed Bri and the much more cynical Gerard. Bri has been dreaming of perfect love like her parents and is a bit disappointed that she’s still single but she hasn’t given up on love.

The minute she sets eyes on Gerard, he rubs her the wrong way. She is distressed to learn that the man she can’t stop sparring with is the man she most needs to make a positive impression on.

 

My Review of The Key to Love

Gerard doesn’t want to be in Story (how cute is that name?) and doesn’t care who knows it. He wants to write his story and move on to bigger and better things, but something about Story and Bri gets to him.

 

The Characters in The Key to Love

The passion between Bri and Gerard is reminiscent of Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth in the best way–it reminds you of the classic romance without trying too hard to reproduce it.

There were times when I felt Bri was too naive and innocent. She had her parents on such a high pedestal that she had an unrealistic expectation about love. Most of the time, she mistook romance for love. But then, that was part of her charm.

It was her overly-enthusiastic expectations about life and romance that made her the person she was. She was a great proponent for everything she considered romantic which made her a great foil for Gerard who, on the surface, was the very antithesis of a romantic hero.

Gerard was cynical having been bruised by love and being around Bri who had greater expectations of romance than most persons was a challenge for him. Add that to being in Story which is a community straight out of a fairytale complete with quirky characters and you had the makings for a twitch.

But Gerard found that being in Story and around Bri rubbed away his rough edges until he became a better person than he had been before. These characters were complete opposites and I loved how the story between the two unfolded.

There were a host of secondary characters in Story that had you reading on to see what they would do next–the sisters who fancied themselves as matchmakers but were always bickering, the old man who still brought pastries to visit his wife’s grave, the town gossip, and the bitter ex-boyfriend who was also the antagonist.

The Themes in The Key to Love

There was a faint faith element that offered the reminder that we can find peace in God and that He always has a plan for our lives.

There was also a strong theme that sometimes love doesn’t look like we think it should. People mistake romance for love and can miss out on what’s best for them.

There was also a faint theme that having a place to belong is a great thing but not if it keeps you from making a commitment.

I enjoyed reading this story which is perfect for fans of Mr. Darcy and sweet romance. Oh, there was a lot of pastry mentioned in this book which may make prone to snack than usual, be warnedūüėČ.

I received an advanced reader’s copy from the publishers through Just Read Tours and NetGalley; a positive review was not required. Get your copy today.

 

About The Key to Love

The Key to Love by Betsy St. AmantLove doesn’t always look the way we expect

The only thing Bri Duval loves more than baking petit fours is romance. So much so that she’s created her own version of the famous Parisian love-lock wall at the bakery where she works in Story, Kansas. She never expects a video involving the wall to go viral–or for¬†Trek Magazine¬†to send travel writer Gerard Fortier to feature the bakery. He’s definitely handsome, but Bri has been holding out for an epic love story like the one her parents had–and that certainly will not include the love-scorning Gerard.

Just when it seems the Pastry Puff is poised for unprecedented success, a series of events threaten not just the bakery but the pedestal she’s kept her parents on all these years. Maybe Gerard is right about romance. Or maybe Bri’s recipe just needs to be tweaked.

 

About Betsy St. Amant

Betsy St. AmantBetsy St. Amant Haddox is the author of more than fifteen inspirational romances and a frequent contributor to iBelieve.com. She lives in north Louisiana with her husband, two daughters, a vast collection of all things turquoise, and an impressive stash of pickle-flavored chips.

When she’s not composing her next book or trying to prove unicorns are real, Betsy can usually be found somewhere in the vicinity of a white chocolate mocha–no whip. Learn more at www.betsystamant.com.

You may also like: